ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

Physical Address Mailing Address D. Boyd Busby, CPA
770 Washington Ave, Ste 226 PO Box 300375 Executive Director
Montgomery, AL 36104-3807 Montgomery, AL 36130-0375

Telephone: 334-242-5700 ~ Fax: 334-242-2711 ~ www.asbpa.alabama.gov
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE INITIAL CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE REGISTRATION

Applicable changes in Board laws and rules have been incorporated into these instructions.
You are encouraged to read all instructions since there are several changes.

**It is the responsibility of the CPA and PA to register timely, regardless of whether he or she receives the Board’s courtesy
reminder(s)**

INITIAL REGISTRATION:

Do not use the online registration to apply for your initial certificate/license. Please complete the paper registration form and
mail it to the Board office with the appropriate registration fee.

CPE Requirements. CPE is not required for initial registrations. For CPE guidelines, please see the CPE Rules and CPE Quick Guide
on the Board’s website.

Fiscal year. The Board’s fiscal year is October 1 through September 30. If you register anytime between October 1 and
September 30 (current fiscal year), you will be required to register for the following fiscal year on the subsequent October 1.

Work Experience. The experience required to qualify initially for a permit to practice (active) is one year of public accounting or
two years in a qualifying accounting position in industry, business, government, or college teaching. Information on experience
requirements and on how to document experience can be found on the Board’s website at
https://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/experience.aspx. Upon completion and verification of the required experience, you may apply for your
initial permit to practice, active status. If you currently are unable to document experience, please register as inactive.

Payment. Please print this registration, complete it, and mail to the Board with one of these preferred payment methods, CHECK,
MONEY ORDER, or CASHIER’S CHECK made payable to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy in the amount of $100.00 for active
status or $50.00 for inactive status; credit cards are not accepted using the paper form.

STATUSES:

Active Status. CPAs practicing public accounting in Alabama must obtain an annual permit to practice (active status). However,
please see Experience section for eligibility. If you are eligible for active status a $100.00 fee is required for an annual permit to practice.
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) is not required at this time. However, you should start accruing your 40 hours beginning the
October 1 after submission and acceptance of your initial registration. You will earn CPE hours October 1 through September 30 and will
report them on the following renewal registration.

Inactive Status. CPAs who do not desire an annual permit to practice public accounting (those electing inactive status), see
definition of the Practice of Public Accountancy Rule 30-X-1-01(f), or those who are otherwise ineligible for an annual permit must also
register annually with the Board. A $50.00 fee is required for inactive status. CPAs who are on inactive status must place the word
“inactive” adjacent to their CPA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other document or device, except for their CPA certificate, on
which their CPA title appears.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Provide only the last four digits of your Social Security number and date of birth (DOB). The Preferred address
and phone number are required fields. The Alternate address and phone number are optional. The Email address is required, as this is
how you will receive your permit to practice. The Employer is a required field. If there is not an employer, use “N/A” or “None” in the
field. Please provide your job title or job description. Please note: The Preferred address, phone number and employer are considered
public record and therefore will appear on the “Find a CPA/PA” page of Board’s website as well as the Annual Register, which is published
on the Board’s website.

IRS PREPARER TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (PTIN): Please provide your active PTIN. NOTE: Per IRS website, all PTINs expire on
December 31 of each year and are required to be renewed to be current and active. Therefore, if you have not renewed your PTIN in a

year or more, then it is not active, and you don’t have to provide it.

ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY (ASBPA) FIRM NAME: Please provide your firm name that is registered by the Board.
See “Sole Proprietorship” below for additional firm information.
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SELF-REPORTING INFORMATION: Answering questions 1 through 5 is a requirement. For questions 6 and 7, answer what describes your
employment best. Additionally, if electing inactive, you must answer statement 8. Your signature is a required field. Note: If the Self-
Reporting page is not complete, your registration will be delayed.

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIPS: Sole proprietorships are defined as a firm in Section 34-1-2 of the Code of Alabama 1975. If you are practicing as
a sole proprietorship, you must register annually as an individual CPA or PA and as a firm. If you are practicing as a sole proprietorship or
have created a new firm of another type and such firm is not currently registered with the Board, it is your responsibility to contact the
Board office, register the firm, and obtain a firm permit to practice for the current fiscal year.

ADDRESS CHANGES: Board rules require that you notify us in writing within 30 days of any change of address and/or change in your
business affiliation. Such changes can be either mailed or faxed (334-242-2711) to the Board office. There is also an online change of
information form at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov.

OTHER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS: In addition to registering with the Board, Section 40-12-71 of the Code of Alabama 1975 requires
Certified Public Accountants engaged in the practice of public accounting to obtain an annual license ($25.00 fee) at the office of the
county probate judge or other county licensing agency. Details of this law may be found at www.asbpa.alabama.gov.
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INITIAL CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE REGISTRATION
ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

PO BOX 300375

MONTGOMERY, AL 36130-0375
Phone: 334-242-5700 - Web Site: www.asbpa.alabama.gov

Certification Fees*: [ Active - $100.00

O Inactive - $50.00

*IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Do not use the online application to apply for your initial certificate/license. The Board's fiscal year is
between October 1 and September 30. Therefore, if you register anytime between October 1 and September 30, you will still be
required to register for the following fiscal year on the subsequent October 1.

The Board’s preferred payment method is either CHECK, MONEY ORDER or CASHIER’S CHECK (no credit cards). Additionally, you are
required notify the Board of any changes in address and employment information within 30 days of change.

Further, your experience must be approved prior to electing active status. For information on how to document your experience please

go to the Experience page on the Board’s website.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Allfields are mandatory.

SSN: fast 4-digits only DOB

Full Name:

First Middle
Preferred Address: —» [0 Home or 00 Work

Street:

Last Suffix

City, State, Zip:

Preferred Phone: —>

0O Home, O Work or O Cell

Alternate Address: —» [ Home or 00 Work
Street:

City, State, Zip:

Alternate Phone: —>

O Home, O Work or O Cell

Email:

Current Firm / Employer Name:

Job Title:

ACTIVE IRS Preparer Tax ldentification Number (PTIN):
ASBPA Firm Name:

ASBPA USE ONLY FY

Date Received: Date Processed:

Deposit Date:

Certificate Number:

NOTES:

Amount Received:
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Name:

INITIAL CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE REGISTRATION

SELF-REPORTING INFORMATION

DIRECTIONS: Please read and answer each of the following questions carefully. For each YES answer, attach
a separate sheet with a thorough explanation and include appropriate documentation such as related

complaints, pleadings, judgments, orders, and settlement agreements. Please check a YES or NO response YES NO
for each question.
1. Have you been charged with, convicted of, or pled nolo contendere or have an order of deferred
prosecution entered involving any 1) felony or 2) a misdemeanor if an essential element of the
offense is dishonesty, deceit or fraud, in any state or federal court that has not previously reported
to the Board?
2. Have you been or are you currently a defendant in any type of civil or administrative action related
to the practice of public accounting, or in which allegations of accounting violations, dishonesty,
fraud, misrepresentation, or breach of fiduciary have been made that has not previously reported to
the Board?
3. Have you had your license, certification, registration, membership, or authority to practice denied,
suspended, modified, revoked, or otherwise restricted, or have you been censured, reprimanded,
sanctioned, penalized, fined, or otherwise disciplined (other than failure to pay license or
registration fee) by the IRS, SEC, or any other federal or state agency that has not previously
reported to the Board?
4. Have you had an award or judgment of $150,000 or more against you based on a claim of or action
for gross negligence, violation of a specific standard of practice, fraud, or misappropriation of
money in the practice of public accounting that has not previously reported to the Board?
5. Have you voluntarily surrendered, allowed to lapse, canceled, or resigned your license, certificate,
registration, membership, or authority to practice as a CPA/PA in lieu of disciplinary proceeding, or
sanctions of any kind by any other state or foreign country that has not previously reported to the
Board?
PUBLIC ACCOUNTING DECLARATION:
Answer YES or NO to each: YES NO
6. 1am employed by, or | own a public accounting firm.
7. | perform duties the Board considers public accounting.
FOR LICENSEES ELECTING INACTIVE ONLY: YES NO

8. lacknowledge that | will comply with all Statutes & Rules pertaining to inactive status — Board Rule
30-X-5-.01(2)(b):

I certify under penalty of perjury that all statements and information contained herein are true, accurate and correct in every respect, to
the best of my knowledge and belief; and that | have not suppressed any information that might affect my renewal, with full knowledge

that the information submitted in this renewal may be grounds for disciplinary action against my certificate.

REQUIRED SIGNATURE: DATE:
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